top of page
  • Writer's picturePia Aurora

8 Desserts You Need To Try in Manila



There are tons of dessert places in Manila, and I wish I've tried and tasted them all before moving here in California. This is also the main reason why I became an instant foodie for sweets, I don't only want to try them but also share my personal experience! If I'd be staying in the Philippines right now, I'll literally gain more for exploring everything. Check out this post the next time you crave for something sweet (and you happen to be in Manila). 😜 (Not in order)


1.) IlaoIlao Frozen Yogurt


'llaollao' (Llao Llao) is a Spanish frozen yogurt franchise which is present to more than 30 countries. Ever since I've tried fro-yo's, I never knew that eating sweets can be satisfying and healthy at the same time! Well, if you choose your toppings as fruits and oats. But the combination of sweet, sour-y and creamy yogurt would never be beaten by any flavored gelato out there. The reason why this store stands out from other fro-yo shops is their 'white chocolate' sauce! Feels like eating White Toblerone without the nougat and just in liquid form! If you want to try them out, they're almost present to every shopping malls such as SM Mall of Asia, Glorietta 2, SM Megamall, Robinson's Galleria, TriNoma Mall and Alabanag Town Center.

llaollao Froyo in a medium sized cup with chocolate overload toppings

Fro-yo Sanum with White Chocolate Sauce!


2.) Cow Cow Ice


Tokyo Milk Cheese Factory arrived in Manila around late 2016 and expanded with their soft serve version, the Cow Cow Ice. If you love cheese so much that you would prefer it mixed in a soft served ice cream, this one's definitely a must try for you! It's made with authentic Jersey Milk from Hokkaido and you don't need to be in Japan anymore to have a taste! The one I've tried is the 'Milk' flavor made from Hokkaido milk blended with mascarpone cheese. You could also add a slice of their Milk Cheese Cake or a Tokyo Milk Cheese biscuit in Salt & Camembert or Honey Gorgonzola. I personally prefer the cheesecake topping since I just want to know how it taste like, the whole cheesecake is a bit expensive for me!

Cow Cow Ice in Milk with Cheesecake Topping

Location: SM Megamall, NAIA Terminal 3, Powerplant Mall, Alabang Town Center


3.) Kiss The Tiramisu


If you're looking for something fancy or a Korean version of soft serves, try Kiss The Tiramisu. One of the newest ice cream parlors that first opened in Makati City, you won't regret trying even for the hefty price. They offer three flavors- Injeolmi, Classic Tiramisu and of course, the Matcha Ice Cream. I've tried all of these three flavors and I'm having a hard time choosing the best one! They're all creamy and amazingly yummy! Their best seller- Classic Tiramisu is basically a vanilla ice cream mixed with mascarpone cheese, mocha and coffee sauce, some cookie crumble for that extra pop and finally, the dark chocolate powder on top! Yum! Dreaming of getting one right now! 😋 They also offer flavored drinks, Korean coffee, pasta and some other desserts.  

Classic Tiramisu and Injeolmi Flavors


Matcha Flavored Ice Cream

Location: Three Central, Valero St., Makati City

G/F Mindanao Entrance Lobby, TriNoma Mall



4.) Emack & Bolio's


This ice cream shop originated from Massachusetts, U.S. and has spread throughout various countries. The owners concept was to make an ice cream store with that hippie vibe. What certainly caught most of people's attention is the so called "Marsh Mellow' cones. The waffle-cone reams are dipped in a marshmallow sauce and your choice of cereals such as Fruit Pebbles, Froot Loops, Rice Crispies and more! You'll surely have a hard time choosing your ice cream flavor since they have a lot! They also offer milkshakes and sundaes of various flavors.

Location: Ayala Malls, the 30th, Pasig City


5.) Fried Suman, Mangga and Chocnut (Neil's Kitchen)


All the first four dessert places that I've mentioned above are all franchises and came from international owners, but this one, I'm proud to say is one of the local dessert (with a twist) especially found in the Philippines. They made the local 'suman' to a 'fried suman' for some crispiness, the mango was like in jelly-form but rich in flavor, topped with crushed choc-nut or peanut-flavored chocolates only found in the Philippines. Don't forget to drown them with milk while you eat!


Fried Suman, Mangga and Chocnut

Location: Neil's Kitchen, Westgate, Alabang



6.) Dulcinea's Churros con Chocolate


This Spanish-inspired restaurant is pretty much everywhere in the malls of Manila. But what I love about them are bread, pastries and their most famous in the menu- Churros Con Chocolate. It's a crispy churros on the outside yet soft and gooey inside, perfectly paired with a hot and thick chocolate syrup. This one's a classic treat that I wouldn't regret coming back over and over. Also perfect to pair with hot, nicely blended coffee. They have yummy pastries and cakes such as cream puffs and chocolate eclairs that are ready for take home goodies.


Churros Con Chocolate

7.) Bruce Bogtrotter's Cake (Toby's Estate)


I remember the first time I tried this cake was when I have to meet someone in this coffee shop. I first saw Toby's Estate in Australia and I'm not a fan of coffee. Just when I was about to order their 'flat white' coffee, this huge slice of moist chocolate cake caught my attention. And yes, I admit, it's perfect for the flat white coffee that I ordered! Bruce Bogtrotter is a character from the movie 'Matilda' and I remember him eating this kind of cake where they derived it's name. I have tried a lot of chocolate cakes and this one is really decadent! For my palate, it's mildly sweet and the cake is soft and moist while the icing is perfectly rich on the outside.


Location: Legaspi Street, Legaspi Village, Makati City



8.) Big Al's Chocolate Caramel Cake


I kid you not, this is by far the BEST CHOCOLATE CARAMEL CAKE I've ever tried. The one that you-wouldn't-want-to-share-with-type-of-cake because every spoonful is just sooooooo addicting! The caramel layer on top is what made it extra special, not too watery, not too thick, but the perfect texture which compliments the moist chocolate cake underneath! Aahhhh! Makes me drool right now! ALSO, BEST TO EAT AFTER PLACING IN THE FRIDGE FOR A FEW HOURS OR OVERNIGHT! They are purely home-baked so it's freshness is 100% guaranteed. Check out their instagram for future orders! 🙌🏼 https://www.instagram.com/bigalscookiejar/


Look how glossy the caramel topping is! 😍

Big Al's Chocolate Caramel Cake (Inside)



Have you tried any of these sweets I've mentioned above? These are all my personal reviews and may be biased, not sponsored by any kind. Let me know what you think!


bottom of page