top of page
  • Writer's picturePia Aurora

Best Matcha Cafe in Japan: Maccha House

Updated: May 5, 2019


2 Chome-1-15 Sennichimae, Chuo, Osaka, Osaka Prefecture 542-0074
Maccha House (Namba Location)

Are you a #MATCHA lover? Do you plan to travel in Japan soon? If yes, then you should visit this matcha place that I particularly tried during my stay in Osaka! This dessert place is a must try not just for green tea or matcha lovers out there. It's for everybody who loves to eat, LIKE ME! 🙋🏽🙋🏽🙋🏽


#MacchaHouse has a few locations in Japan including, Tokyo and Kyoto and also across the Asia such as Singapore, Hong Kong and Taiwan. They are known for their #1 selling product, the #UjiMacchaTiramisu. This wouldn't be so special without Kyoto's established green tea powder called "Morihan." You can purchase a separate product of this in stores or online.

The store that we visited was located in Namba and if you're not aware, it's located in a shopping mall underground. We almost had a hard time finding it because google wouldn't specify. It is right beside the underground stairway, you could see it quickly. When we get there, there were only a few customers and the space has around 8-10 tables.






And since I've already tried this gem, I'm really eager to share my experience and tastebuds with you! I have seen a lot of version of this Uji Maccha Tiramisu such as in Toronto and Bangkok, I'm glad that I was able to try it from where the matcha originated. I think you know already! The tiramisu is placed in a square box called "masu" in Japanese. By using the wooden spoon provided, the matcha powder sprinkled on top will expose the mascarpone cheese and sponge cake at the bottom of the masu. It was oozing with cheese and creaminess that just by looking at it, I'm almost salivating but I had to pause a little to take some pictures. 😅 The texture of mascarpone cheese is almost like a whipped cream. The bitter taste of matcha and sweetness of sponge cake together with cheese complimented every single bite. It really is addicting!





The other one that we tried, which my husband chose, was the Maccha Latte with soft serve ice cream (shown on the picture above). This one has sweet beans and small pieces of mochi too which are all his favorite! I wish they have more locations in Japan including Fukuoka or here in Sasebo (where we are currently staying near the U.S. Naval Base) so that I could always visit whenever I crave for this. 😢😢😢


So far, this place has to be my number one matcha #dessert favorite. I may not be sure when I will be back to devour and try everything on the menu again but I'll still keep it on my list. No wonder why people are going crazy for this as I have read online, in other branches you have to fall in line for 4 hours for this! We're lucky that this location is not super packed!


If you're excited to try it too, let me know on the comment section! ☺️

bottom of page