top of page
  • Writer's picturePia Aurora

Voodoo Doughnut Encounter in Portland, Oregon

Updated: May 5, 2019




Last April, I went to Seattle for my best friend's wedding. After the wedding day, we drove to Oregon for a day trip in Portland. I haven't been to a lot of places in the U.S. as I am always in California, so Portland sounds really new to me. This city is known for it's weirdness (in a good way) and that hippie-vintage vibe that you'll feel everywhere. We were eager to check out all the cool stuff in the city and we accidentally stumbled on this pink sign nearby.



It was a Sunday and you can see people lining up outside. I quickly google-d this store and I thank the heavens for bringing us here! We usually list our must-see places so we won't be wasting our precious time for one day. The next thing we know, we're also lined-up for about 30 minutes just to get our hands dirty with those donuts!







When we got inside, we are still lining up until the cashier. You can only buy the doughnuts and eat it elsewhere (there are stand tables outside). Everything you see inside is mesmerizing with colors (especially PINK!) And spotted is this rotating display of doughnuts were you pick your orders from. I got a box of it because I really got excited of all the colors and flavors. Though I only ate three out of seven doughnuts.









Some of the donuts we had are- The Homer, The Voodoo Doll Doughnut, Bacon Maple Bar, Dirt and Grape Ape. I bought 7 doughnuts so I could have the box as well which says "Good things come in pink boxes." These doughnuts are so cute and just by looking at it, you'll surely go wild! The Homer is basically a strawberry-flavored donut with candy sprinkles on top but the texture of the dough is soft and airy. I like how it became a little bit chewy and compliments everything. For the Voodoo Doll, it's a donut with raspberry filling inside, chocolate frosting and a pretzel stake. If you love your donuts with a fruity twist, this one's for you as well as the Grape Ape. It's sweetness is combined with the fruity-sour flavor. The 'Dirt' consists of vanilla frosting and Oreo cookies which I loved too.






Overall, this shop is a must-try especially when you're in Portland. They have numerous locations including Universal Studios in Los Angeles and Universal CityWalk Orlando.




The Famous 'Voodoo Doll' Donut

If you have tried it too, how was your tastebuds experience so far? 💓

bottom of page